Letting Go – A letter to my rapist

Life Lessons From Around the Dinner Table

Dear S,

I know you’ll never read this, as a matter of fact I’m sure you’ve never read a blog post in your entire life, but I’m not writing this for you. I’m writing this for me! I’m writing this for all of the men and women who are afraid to speak out against their attackers! People often ask “Why do girls stay silent? Why do girls not run to the cops and tell them they’ve been attacked?” The answer is different for everyone, and unless you have been a victim yourself, you have no right to ask such questions! I didn’t, and part of it was because I was scared, but the biggest part of all was that I was ashamed!  That’s right, you raped me and I felt ashamed! How messed up is that?! You took a bright, vibrant, romantic young woman & turned her into a scared…

View original post 529 more words

Leave a Reply

