Life As I Know It.

I don’t like to think that everything in our life is pre- determined. Life is too vast, too precious, too sought-after for it all to be laid out word for word, where we are just robots, doing what was already planned for us. It’s hard for me to grasp that all I have done, all the memories I have made, or everything still left for me to do is all planned out by someone above (Be it God, or someone you believe in or the universe in itself.)

Don’t get me wrong. There are billions of lives in this world, and every one of us have many many things in common. We can’t all be wild and completely different. If you don’t have anything in common with me, you will with someone else. That predictability is something I love. It’s something we all do. That, may have been laid out for us. Some common rules or path for us all to follow. Those mundane, predictable things we all do, that make us feel safe and secure. That make us feel like we aren’t that different for each other. These are the things that may already be pre-determined. I like to think so at least. Some things are destined for all of us, be it love, education, tears, up and downs, highs and lows, the usual. The things that makes us humans.  That’s destiny for me. Some get all of those things, some due to circumstances unforeseen; don’t.

On the other hand, I don’t know what tomorrow’s going to be like. Heck, I don’t even know what the next line is going to be or how it’s going to end. That unpredictability, so exciting but at the same time so ordinary is what sets us all apart. Makes us different from each other and other species. What we do, what choices we make, that’s our choice, what happens as a result that’s the consequence. That’s how life is. We don’t know for certain if we are going to get the result that we want. But in the end if we don’t get it, we can’t just say “Oh that’s life. I am destined for other things. Whatever’s going to happen will happen.”

No. Please No. I get it. That’s optimism. You are trying to see the bright light. If this was meant to happen, then please just sit idly. Whatever has to happen, will happen. Why bother doing so much work?

Everyday something changes. Change is constant. How can we expect our lives, if it was pre-determined, to not change and follow some other path with the circumstances that we go through?

We are given emotions, feelings, a choice to make so that we can carve our own path.

Or at least that’s what I think.

A week or so back, I had a conversation with my friend, where we spoke about all this. And she said, that whatever we do, we shouldn’t question it, we shouldn’t find answers, and we should just do what we are doing because there is a bigger picture. And we will never really know about it.

But we find answers to everything because that’s human nature, and just doing things without searching for answers is too risky for us.

This was going on in mind for a long time. I kept pushing it, I didn’t feel like penning it down. I felt confused, but today, while reading a book (Mud Vein By Tarryn Fisher), I came across a part where one of the main character says to the other, that they were bound to meet (Not in a romantic way, because something happens to the other person when they meet, and this character was there to help) but he says it because he was going to the airport to board a flight and visit his parents for Christmas, but midway he turns back to his house, and instead goes for a morning jog. Why? Why did he miss his flight? Because somehow the universe had set his path, to meet the other character and be of any help he can be. That got me thinking. Which is why I am on a writing spree now. We all have done something out of the blue like this, for no apparent reason. Just something clicks in our head and we do it. We think there is no reason to it, but there is. As my friend said, there is always a bigger picture to it.

Everything we do has some reason. See it this way, our body works a certain way because there are reasons for it, we sneeze, we sweat, we shiver; all of these have reasons. The wind blows hard some days because of a reason, the leaves are tapered in the end because there is a reason. Leaves weren’t always that shape. They changed with time because of some reason, and they adapted to it. So why should humans be any different? What we do, why we do always has a reason behind it. We don’t think about the bigger picture, because it’s a scary thought, it’s too vast, it’s risky, we realise how small our lives are….or how big our roles are in some way. So we give smaller reasons for what we do. Why did we all of sudden, go for a jog today? To be fitter. Why do I want a dress when I don’t really have anywhere to where it to? Because I like the dress.

These are small things, but small things do matter in the end. (You will get this better if you read 13 reasons why. Snowball effect)

We all have a purpose in this life. That’s one thing I truly believe in. It can be to just say Hi to a passing stranger and make their day better, or it can be to discover something new for the betterment of the society. It can range from anything small to anything humongous. But we all are here for a reason. We don’t know it now. We might never do, but there is always a bigger picture.

The universe is too big and sort of a well-oiled machine for us to not be an essential part of it, to make it work every day.

2 thoughts on “Life As I Know It.

Leave a Reply

